FacebookBannerLC30 2017 SoldOut
Allen Steele

Allen Steele


LibertyCon 24 Master of Ceremonies (2011)

Allen Steele became a full-time science fiction writer in 1988, following publication of his first short story, "Live From The Mars Hotel" (Asimov's, mid-Dec. `88). Since then he has become a prolific author of novels, short stories, and essays, with his work appearing in England, France, Germany, Spain, Italy, Brazil, Russia, the Czech Republic, Poland, and Japan.

Steele was born in Nashville, Tennessee. He received his B.A. in Communications from New England College in Henniker, New Hampshire, and his M.A. in Journalism from the University of Missouri in Columbia, Missouri. Before turning to SF, he worked for as a staff writer for daily and weekly newspapers in Tennessee, Missouri, and Massachusetts, freelanced for business and general-interest magazines in the Northeast, and spent a short tenure as a Washington correspondent, covering politics on Capitol Hill.

His novels include Orbital Decay, Clarke County, Space, Lunar Descent, Labyrinth of Night, The Jericho Iteration, The Tranquillity Alternative, and A King of Infinite Space. He has also published three collections of short fiction, Rude Astronauts, All-American Alien Boy, and Sex and Violence in Zero-G . His work has appeared in Asimov's Science Fiction, Analog, Fantasy & Science Fiction, Omni, Science Fiction Age, Absolute Magnitude, Journal Wired, Pirate Writngs, and The New York Review of Science Fiction, as well as in many anthologies.

His novella "The Death Of Captain Future" (Asimov's, Oct.`95; The Year's Best Science Fiction, 13th Annual Collection, edited by Gardner Dozois) received the 1996 Hugo Award for Best Novella, won a 1996 Science Fiction Weekly Reader Appreciation Award, and was nominated for a 1997 Nebula Award by the Science Fiction Writers of America. His novelette "The Good Rat" (Analog, mid-Dec.`95) was nominated for a Hugo in 1996. Orbital Decay received the 1990 Locus Award for Best First Novel, and Clarke County, Space was nominated for the 1991 Philip K. Dick Award. Steele was First Runner-Up for the 1990 John W. Campbell Award, and received the Donald A. Wollheim Award in 1993.

His novella "...Where Angels Fear to Tread" was nominated for the Nebula award and won the Hugo and the annual Reader's Poll of Asimov's Science Fiction as Best Novella of the Year. His next book, OceanSpace will be published in February, 2000. He now lives in western Massachusetts with his wife and three dogs. He is currently writing a new novel.

(From Allen Steele's FictionWise Page)